Swing Time

I finished Swing Time by Zadie Smith last night and I’ll be honest, I had a hard time getting through it.  There were several points where I almost put it down due to lack of interest, but I am the type of person who finishes things, so I persevered.

The story follows two young brown girls in London who begin taking dance lessons.  Their lives take different paths and the reader primarily sticks with one girl, following her through her job as a personal assistant to a pop star and setting up a school in Africa.  The relationship between the two girls is probably the most interesting part of the book, but it doesn’t dwell long on it and instead takes a long time with details that I really just did not care about.

Leave a Reply

