The Edge of Seventeen

We had another few airplane rides over the past week, so I was able to catch up on a few movies that I missed last year.  I watched The Edge of Seventeen, starring Hailee Steinfeld as Nadine, a high school student who struggles to fit in.  When her only friend starts dating her brother, she feels betrayed and completely breaks down.  I had a hard time relating to her as a character, partly because she was selfish the entire time and didn’t want to look at anything from someone else’s perspective.  Maybe it’s because I am so far removed from high school at this point…

The acting was excellent in the movie and I appreciated the friendship between Nadine and her best friend.  I also thought Woody Harrelson as the teacher she confides in plays the role well and it doesn’t disintegrate into a ploy.  Overall, this was a good airplane choice.

Leave a Reply

