Lawrence of Arabia

We finally made it through Lawrence of Arabia last night after our 4th viewing attempt.  This movie is long – 201 minutes.  We started watching it about a month ago, but between being busy at the end of the school year and going on vacation, we finally had to just bite the bullet and sit down and power through the rest.  You can probably tell I wasn’t a big fan.  I guess I just don’t know what all the fuss is about.

The movie follows the story of T.E. Lawrence, a real person during WWI in the Arabian Peninsula.   The 1962 movie won seven Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Director.  It certainly is an epic and the scenery and all of the people are epic.  Maybe the story really didn’t interest me that much.  I did like the score.  There are no women in this movie at all and I’m not saying that every movie needs to have a ton of female characters, but really?  Not one?

I also found Peter O’Toole to be a little annoying in the role of Lawrence.  He seemed very passive and possibly the movie wanted to show his reluctance to violence, but the movie is about war and I don’t know what he expected to happen.  I did enjoy his interactions with the various Arabic tribes and how he learned their cultures.  Maybe on a big screen in the movie theatre, I would have enjoyed this more, but over several nights at home, it just didn’t do it for me.

Leave a Reply

