Creed

I was on a long airplane ride and had a bunch of movie choices (yay for premium class!).  I chose Creed mostly because of the good reviews it got last year.  The only Rocky movie I had ever seen was Rocky IV in my freshman health class when I was 14, but I had a general idea of the Rocky storylines.

Creed follows the story of Donnie, the son of Apollo Creed as he trains to become a world class boxer.  Sylvester Stallone reprises his role as Rocky and is Donnie’s trainer and mentor throughout the process.  Stallone won a Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actor.

Overall, I found the movie very engaging.  I liked the characters and liked their relationships to each other, especially the bond between Donnie and Apollo’s widow.  The love story was sweet and the fight scenes were realistic and exciting.  I can see there being another Creed movie in the future, following Donnie’s career as a boxer.

Leave a Reply

