After Visiting Friends

I just finished this memoir by Michael Hainey, which chronicled his journey to discover the circumstances around his father’s death when he was a child. Trained as a journalist, Hainley approaches it as an investigations and interviews numerous people from his father’s life. The ultimate revelation isn’t really a surprising one (you could see it coming), but the path to get there was interesting and enjoyable. 

There were so many people in the author’s life that kept secrets from about about that night. This is so different from my own family, which is so open and honest, but maybe this is a common theme in many families.  When he finally learns the truth, he wrestles back and forth in whether to tell his mother. What a difficult burden to bear. I found myself being thankful for my family and being able to grow up with both of my parents. I can only imagine needing to learn about a deceased parent in order to feel connected to them. While I normally don’t read memoirs very often, I enjoyed this one and would recommend it. 

Leave a Reply

