Eligible

After the downer that was Fates and Furies, I was excited to start something lighter, a modern day retelling of Pride and Prejudice by Curtis Sittenfeld.  She is one of my favorite authors and Pride and Prejudice is probably my all time favorite book, so I knew this would be a good pick.  I read it quickly in only three days and even though I knew what was going to happen, I really enjoyed the journey to get there.

Instead of England, Eligible takes place in Cincinnati and follows the story of Liz Bennett and her family of four sisters as she meets, hates and ultimately falls in love with Fitzwilliam Darcy.  Being so familiar with the original, it was fun to see the differences in the characters: the cousin Collins character is not quite so annoying here and the original Wickham character is divided into two separate people in Eligible.  The ending is not a surprise, although I would have maybe liked one or two more scenes between Liz and Darcy as they were finally getting together; it seemed a little rushed at the end.

Like I said, I flew through this book and enjoyed every minute.  Anyone who loves Jane Austen will definitely enjoy this retelling.

Leave a Reply

