First Day of Summer

Yesterday was officially the first day of summer for us.  Both kids were home from school and it was so nice not to have to rush out of the house in the morning.  I’ll probably be singing a different tune come late August, but for now, it’s lovely.

With my kids’ ages, it was important for me to come up with a balance between play and organized activities for the summer.  I really didn’t want them just laying around all summer in front of the t.v., but I didn’t want them over-extended in full day camps every week either.  My youngest will continue his preschool two mornings a week, and we decided on three weeks of day camps for my daughter.  We are also doing about 30 minutes of summer workbook work every morning as well as reading every night.

Our first “summer school” session went pretty well yesterday.  My daughter was excited to start the workbooks and earn her stickers (a girl after my own heart).  My son was a little more difficult. He has no interest in coloring, writing and struggles to hold crayons and pencils.  He gets frustrated when he thinks he can’t do something.  I need to be patient with him as he practices, but I don’t want to ignore the issue either.  Right now, I let him color how he would like, basically holding the crayon in his fist, and then I help him hold the crayon the right way and hold his hand as we move it together so he can get used to the feeling.  We’ll see if it goes any better today.  My concern is that if I don’t push this issue with him, he will be so behind in his fine motor skills.

There is always something to worry about with your kids, isn’t there?

Leave a Reply

