Using Our Tongues to Do Good

Our tongues are our strongest muscles.  Most of the time, I am pretty good about thinking before things come out of my mouth.  Occasionally, you know there are those times where I say something out of anger or frustration that I wish I could take back.  I know that I often need to be more encouraging, especially to my husband, whose love language is words of affirmation.

In 1 Corinthians 14, Paul talks to the Church about a few spiritual gifts and compares some of them.  Ultimately, however, his main point is that any spiritual gift we are given should be used to build up the church.  Using our tongues is especially relevant here, because it is the main way that we are able to tell others about Jesus.  Our tongues can also be a strong witness to others.

My kids are definitely at the age when they pick up on everything I say.  I really want to make sure that I am serving as an example to them, both as a mother and as a wife to my husband.

Leave a Reply

