Being Busy and Finding Time to Sabbath

It’s close to the end of the school year and we have had activity after activity with no end in sight.  In Kindergarten, everyone invites the whole class to their birthday party.  While being inclusive is nice, by the end of the year, we are weary.  My daughter got out of school at noon today and went straight to a pool party.  This evening, my son had his end of the year program at preschool.  I am exhausted.  As an introvert, this hits me even harder the more small talk I have to make.

Recently, my family has done a lot of talking about the Sabbath.  Most of the time, we think that honoring the Sabbath (one of the Ten Commandments, by the way) just means that we take the time to go to church on the weekend.  My husband was talking to one of the women in our small group and she told him that she takes an entire day every week to “Sabbath.”  When he came home and told me about it, it was music to my introverted ears.  We need to remember to stop the busy-ness of our daily lives and really take time to connect with God and get back to ourselves.  To me, this means I don’t have to feel guilty if I need a few hours on the weekend to recharge.  I also need to be aware that my husband needs the opportunity to do the same.  Having two young children makes it tough, but maybe we need to not accept every single invitation or try to cram in another activity.  We actually have no plans tomorrow and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

